Idle musings on tattoos

Lately I’ve been thinking a bit about getting more tattoos. None of this will happen any time soon, since all of my personal money is still being used to replace books lost in the flood (and that will be the case for the foreseeable future). But a gentleman (or me) can still ponder. Here are my ponderings.

My sole current tattoo takes up most of my upper back. I think the most likely future real estate is upper arms. Whenever I’m representing my company to the general public I’m typically wearing long pants and a long-sleeve shirt with the sleeves rolled up on my forearms. I think if a little ink shows when I’m wearing a shorter-sleeved t-shirt I should be OK.

The first idea is one I’ve bounced around for a while: a design based around a Yupik walrus mask. The languages I studied most in grad school were Yup’ik, Chukchi, and Aleut. None of those peoples have strong two-dimensional artistic traditions, but carving has a rich history, especially among the Yupik. I love walruses, so it brings two aspects of me together nicely. The only issue is how much detail would need to be sacrificed to shrink something like this down to fit on my upper arm and whether such a simplified design would be worth it.

Image Image

 

Another upper-arm possibility that I’ve been leaning more heavily toward lately is a full bookshelf. That one should be pretty obvious if you’ve interacted with me for more than 15 seconds. I’ve seen designs in that vein, but they’re usually too archaic-looking. Fancy carved (and only half-full) bookcases, big old-looking hardcover books, that sort of thing. That’s not my style. But I’d think that a full, contemporary bookshelf is an idea that an artist could run with pretty easily to create something I’d like.

The other thing I think could make a cool tattoo doesn’t actually exist. I wish there were an iconic Wookiee design, akin to the Rebel and Imperial insignia. That would be a no-brainer. It’s possible such a design will eventually exist, but I won’t save real estate for it. Maybe lower leg if that day comes. (Save the jokes about getting Chewbacca’s bandolier tattooed across my chest.)

Another obvious choice is a bass clef. A touch trite perhaps, but iconic. That would clearly be smaller and as such could go pretty much anywhere. Middle part of my back (right under my current tattoo), left side seems the best choice for that.

 

~ by chewie93 on June 22, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
